Skip to content

Weekend at Tokyo Station

December 13, 2012

IMAG0897

Although I have actually pre-registered for the Pasona Job Fair for International Students last December 08, Saturday, I was particularly feeling so lazy that I just didn’t want to go. However, given that the dinner with with Jay was long overdue, I pushed my mind over body and voila, an hour or so later, after dropping quickly at GLOBIS to print my attendance sheets and resumes, I found myself walking along the heart of Tokyo.

I was in awe.

The heart of Tokyo where the Grand Tokyo Station was located looked so picturesque. The funny thing was I have never been here though it was literally walking distance from school if you come to look at it since it was just like at the other side of the Imperial Palace (another place I have never ever visited.) I really should go out and explore Tokyo more, eh? I have been here for a good 4 months and I have seem to have seen nothing else but the Yurakucho subway and the Seibu Ikebukuro Line, the train network I use in going to school and going back home.

IMAG0900

Anyway, back to Tokyo Station, I saw these 2 people below posing in the middle of the road. God knows what they are trying to achieve. I could never know what but it seems a lot of people including the Japanese are taking pictures.

IMAG0894

The inside the Tokyo Station felt surreal that it made me think of all those cloak-and-dagger movies where the protagonists are trying to escape New York or something and they have to pass through a lot of policemen on the way to the train. The ceiling reminds me of Saint Peter Church though, which is near my place in Quezon City, Philippines.

IMAG0904

At the Pasona Job Fair, I was able to talk to 2 people who might be of assistance. I hope they can assist me with life after getting my GLOBIS MBA though. This reminds me, I have to e-mail them. Te-hee!

IMAG0919

By the way, the event was held at the Pasona Headquarters which reminded me of the hanging garden of Babylon. They, after all, have the Urban Farm inside which was really cool if you ask me. Feels like that weird house somewhere in Xavierville in Quezon City with all the vines and bougainvillea and stuff.

IMAG0921

Anyway, after the job fair, I went to Shinjuku to meet with Jay for dinner. It turns out Jay is a history professor (surprises of all surprises) hence from this point forward I will be referring to him as “sensei.” No wonder his unique & insightful analysis on all things political is so unlike some political bloggers out there.

IMAG0925

After dinner and a quick tour around Shinjuku particularly Korea Town where shopkeepers kept on dancing Oppa Gangnam Style, I had a quick pitstop at Starbucks so I could finish reading my case study for Management Accounting on Monday.

IMAG0926

 

Until then….
IMAG0929

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2012 5:47 am

    Oh wow, Grand Tokyo Station! Looks beautiful! Never got to visit that too. I wanna go back to Tokyo!😀

  2. December 13, 2012 5:54 am

    Reblogged this on RD Revilo.

  3. January 7, 2013 3:47 am

    As skeptics will rightly point out, it takes a lot of energy to power an indoor farm, but Pasona ( http://www.pasona-nouentai.co.jp ) doesn’t bill the project as a ready-made ecological solution. In part, it’s a team-building exercise for the company’s staff. It’s also an attempt at promoting a greater understanding of environmental and food-supply concerns. (And, yes, it’s good p.r.) More important, it’s a pioneering experiment: How are we going to develop truly efficient urban farms if we don’t start urban farming in the first place? Visits are free but need to be booked in advance; accessed via Otemachi or Nihonbashi stations.

  4. January 16, 2013 11:35 am

    Same argument versus Earth Hour….

Leave a Reply

