Skip to content

Social Media is for Everyone!

July 1, 2012

CLICK HERE FOR MORE OFFICIAL EVENT PICTURES OF MANILA SOCIAL MEDIA DAY 2012 AT TEA 101 TOMAS MORATO EXT. COR. SCOUT BAYORAN, QUEZON CITY LAST JUNE 30, 2012!


Last night was a fun night.

God knows how the planning for Manila Social Media Day began and how it evolved into an event that was literally more than what we expected. One great thing about the event was that although we actually did not have much time to “court” our sponsors in person, with the power of social media, the following sponsors namely Flawless Face & Body (Pam Mendoza, Isabella Fabregas, & Drew Mendoza,) Smart Communications (Abbie Real,) Wild Ones Tattoo (Eric Hotchkiss,) Dentiste Toothpaste (Mara Mariano,) and Thermos (ehem!) agreed to join the fun and, to quote one pretty lady, “lose all of her poise because of the rain!” *rotfl*

Although @nashfrias, @kimbamheo, and @soul0019 were the earliest of all co-organizers, it was funny how JL, Zheyme, and a whole lot of faces became instant organizers without the need to say anything! FTW! The organized chaos would have been more chaotic without you guys!

I actually expected people to arrive by 7ish, but the earliest bird was there at 5 PM. This was the scene at 630 PMish:

More than enough! Loot bags for everyone from Flawless Face & Body!

Time to get vain again, eh? God knows my skin needs pampering. *rotfl*

Direk Joey Reyes telling bloggers & social media citizens like me the awful truth why we have “friends on Twitter and Facebook.” I just love the fact that we agree on one thing: if you want to be taken seriously, don’t hind behind anonymity. Stand up and defend your opinion.

The Business Manager of Flawless Face & Body, Mr. Drew Mendoza, explaining to everyone how their chain of aesthetic clinics aim to provide the best 2-way service to their market. Nice point he keeps on reiterating was their desire to listen to what the people have to say, not dictate to the people what their company wanted to sell. This is, in my honest opinion, so un-Apple as a marketing principle. I am a firm believer of market research too if and only if done properly. By the way, I apologize for the technical problems. I owe you guys big time!

Anyway, here is my Opening Remarks of some sort for Manila Social Media Day!

Social Media is for Everyone.

Note: I did not actually have a copy of my “speech” at hand so I only said what was coming from my mind. Some of the words may be different and, in fact, I may have been interpreted differently, but this is what I have to say:

I don’t know if you guys are aware about what happened last year at Wall Street, but it was at that time wherein the haves and the have nots began to clash. Similarly in this side of the Internet, the technology that was supposed to unite us has in fact began to divide us. There is the 1%….

….and then there is the 99%.

But rather than having the 99% go against the 1% to “Occupy Wall Street,” or vice versa, I dream that we unite as 100%.

It’s no longer the time to remain anonymous….

….because we are, after all, part of the Philippines.

This is why I am calling everyone to #OccupySM, and no, I am not referring to the mall.

Everyone should “Occupy Social Media,” because….

….social media is for everyone. Social media is everyone.

And with this, I would like to end with a quote from a famous Philosopher, Voltaire:

“I do not agree with a word you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it.”

Happy Social Media Day, my friends!

Leave a Reply

