Skip to content

We Are Social Singapore is Hiring?

May 21, 2012

Mr. Simon Kemp
Managing Director
We Are Social Pte Ltd.
16 Raffles Quay, #33-03,
Hong Leong Building,
Singapore 048581, Singapore

Good day!

I am sending you my resume via e-mail to apply for the post of Account Manager (or any of the job openings which you deem fit) as posted on your corporate website. On the other hand, you can also visit my LinkedIn profile. To humor you with my social media flair, I am also posting a copy of this letter via my personal blog, which I intend to share through my social media accounts.

To be honest, I am quite a corporate-type of person and I usually raise my eyebrow (just 1) when certain applicants do something supposedly unusual and eye-catching like this (pun intended.) But since you require a touch of creativity upon the initial point of application, in the words of the great Barney Stinson, I say, “challenge accepted!” But as you can see (notice the attempted visuals,) I’m still not going out of bounds as a business professional.

However, I would also like to pinpoint that I am not a cut from the same pie of the kind of applicants you would most likely be getting nor am I a 100% match with your requirements.

Kindly allow me to enumerate:

1. I am not a social medial professional. I am a marketing & business professional with over 5 years’ worth of experience handling consumer goods and products. I am into brand management, retail, sales management, even telemarketing, direct marketing, purchasing, and new product development. However, in the midst of all this, I do make use of the power of the Internet as one of the many tactics I employ to get things done (read as positively affecting the bottomline.) Moreover, on my free time, as some of the people on Facebook or Twitter could hopefully attest, I try my best to get my voice heard in more ways than one. After all, I’m not always nice, but I’m always interesting. (P.S. With regards to the preceding hyperlink, “I invoke my right against selfincrimination”

2. I am not fluent with any of the following languages, yet: Mandarin, Bahasa Indonesia, Thai, Vietnamese, or Japanese. Needless to say, I can speak Filipino/Tagalog and another dialect, Bisaya.

3. I am not in Singapore. I honestly don’t know if the job requires that I will be, but in the age of social media and telecommuting, I would like to believe that this would not be taken against me.

Now that I have explained and pleaded my case above, I would like to be transparent why I want to apply for your great organization and successively convince you why hiring me would be very strategic.

I have been fortunate enough to be considered for the MBA Programme of the Graduate School of Management, GLOBIS University in Tokyo, Japan this Fall 2012. As such, I firmly believe, I would be in a unique situation to address concern #2 above sooner or later. Moreover, I believe such social media post would enable me to improve myself as I take on my graduate degree, while maintaining to be a very valuable employee to your organization.

Rest assured the learning and insights (most probably about the Japanese market) I will be getting while studying at Globis can be for the immediate advantage of your organization as well. Should there be any concerns about my schedule and time management, I would like to pinpoint that from 2004-2007, I was also working and studying full-time from 8:30 AM to 5:30 PM and 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM, respectively, on a daily basis. Should you give me the opportunity to join your group, I know for a fact that I can make this work.

I believe my skills, academic background, and experience has prepared me to take on the challenges of social media marketing if given a chance to represent your organization in the Land of the Rising Fun and, ultimately, beyond. I consider myself to be a highly flexible and motivated individual and can bring a lot of knowledge, ideas, and output to your organization.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me via e-mail.

Thank you very much.

Sincerely,

King del Rosario

Just to give you an idea, this is how I would most likely dress up in an interview. Come to think of it, this is how I usually appear for work.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

