Skip to content

The Hunt for the Right MBA

May 9, 2012

UPDATED September 14, 2012: Yehey! Hindi na ako (masyadong) gugutomin sa Tokyo! It’s not much really, but still, I’m now a JASSO Scholar! FTW!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

UPDATED JUNE 10, 2012: My acceptance to the Graduate School of Management in GLOBIS University is no longer conditional. Tokyo, here I come!

As as a way to (over)compensate for my past failures, I have actually already “planned” the rest of my life notwithstanding acts of God or unforeseen events. One of these milestones is taking up an MBA outside of the Philippines by age 30. I’m still 29, so I basically still have lots of time to get ample and relevant work experience, which I personally believe is needed to make further studies worthwhile.

However, the decision to actually push through and test the competitive waters of Business School Admissions happened out of the blue last October 2011. I decided to take the GMAT within a week just to beat the Round 1 admissions deadline of 1 of the 3 business schools I decided to apply for.

Now, I have always been fascinated about Japan. I have been there once when I represented the Philippines during the 1997 Hyogo International Cosmic Jamboree. I once worked for a Japanese company for almost 2 years handling marketing and business development as well. To cut it short, I know what to expect and I know the value of knowledge I would be getting from a Japanese MBA. We all know what happened to Japan last year with the tsunami, the earthquake, the nuclear meltdown, and everything. And yet, merely a year after 3/11, the country moved on. We, Filipinos, are a very resilient nation. But on top of that resilience which we can also learn from the Japanese, what I also would like to experience further is the culture of innovation.

This is why upon knowing that “the largest business school in Japan,” Globis University, held its orientation for potential MBA applicants last November 16, 2011 in Makati, I decided to drop by after work. That event was actually the first time I’ve heard about Globis, but for some reason, Globis is the only school that “sold” itself to me within 30 minutes. Whereas the other 2 schools I applied for were already familiar to me years ago thanks to Time Magazine and the likes, it is only Globis that made me feel that this is an institution I would like to belong to by talking to the people that represent Globis.

Its focus on “creating visionary leaders and a drive for entrepreneurship” really attracted me. After all, if a business school cannot sell itself effectively to you as an applicant, what’s the point in studying there, right?

Fast forward into the future, after several e-mail correspondences and an online panel interview (thanks Smart Bro!) I finally received word last April 26 that by the grace of God, I got in. To be honest, I only applied for 3 business schools outside the Philippines and they were all generous enough to waive the application fee as well as waive the TOEFL requirement for my case. I’m not asking for the considerations above because I think I’m too good for what the world has to offer. I asked for consideration because coming from where I was standing, MBA applications can really be too expensive. Now, if you really know me in person, you can attest to the fact that I am too frugal to a fault at times.

Although, for sake of transparency, the first school I applied to already declined my application and I think it is because I attached the wrong transcript of records which did not reflect my graduation date for my Marketing Management degree from De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde. To put it bluntly, “tanga lang!“The final school I applied for is way up there though in terms of ranking and is still pending admission results next month. However, time is of the essence, and as early as now, I have to start preparing my next steps.

Of course, the blessing is still not served on a silver platter because of the conditions set on my admission acceptance and the scholarship itself. Furthermore, I have yet to substantially prove that I can afford to live and survive in Japan, which is needed for a student visa. But I’ve already surpassed the initial hurdles. There’s no stopping now. God-willing, I will be in Japan by Autumn. It’s Tokyo or bust.

I just wish there’s another Filipino in Globis. Otherwise, with a class size of only 20 students for the pioneering full-time MBA Programme, it’s gonna be Air Supply moments all over again….

16 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2012 6:24 am

    I actually think na it’ll be better if there would be no other filipino sa class. makes you open up more..🙂

  2. May 10, 2012 3:29 pm

    Well, pero it might be too lonely. Wala ring mautangan. #AlamNa *rotfl*

  3. May 21, 2012 12:40 am

    i think good choice na dun ka nag-enrol. rare lang kasi sa mga Filipino mabigyan ng ganyan opportunity. GL King! Btw, visit this website http://www.ofwforum.com , that forum site was created for Filipinos around the world. Thanks!

  4. Vincent permalink
    November 9, 2012 6:22 am

    hi king,

    i find this blog interesting. just a question though, how were you able to solve the “must be financially well prepared” part? as we all know, living in japan is very expensive.

  5. November 9, 2012 7:00 am

    Hello! Well, I must say I do have a wee bit of savings, but let’s just say “family helps.” This is why I really planned on how much I could spend in Tokyo for a year given what I have and, perhaps, future cash flows. Hehehe. I was very conservative in my projections (since I do this a lot with my work) which is why with the JASSO allowance (which would start this November 15) and perhaps with some light part time job, I would be having a waaay better experience real soon.

    But once again, I did not take into consideration the possible additional scholarships and part-time work when I planned my expenses. Hence, since I’ve been here, and probably I will continue to do so, I don’t really explore Tokyo like a tourist. As a long-term student, I have to think and act like a resident. You will never be prepared enough, but it helps to moderate yourself.

    As you know, Tokyo is a great place to be. 2013 will be the year of immersion for me.🙂

  6. Vincent permalink
    November 9, 2012 7:17 am

    they are having an event here in the philippines this coming monday, im planning to drop by to hear the experiences of their graduates. Ofcourse, it would be nice to have a chance to get that mba too😀

  7. November 10, 2012 7:00 am

    Hehe. Hope you could join. May I ask why you are considering taking up an MBA now, why abroad, and if ever, why Japan? Thanks!

  8. Jiggy Ang permalink
    March 2, 2013 1:04 am

    Hi Mr. del Rosario

    I was lucky enough to get into GLOBIS for their 2013 full-time MBA batch. May I know how you applied for the JASSO Scholarship and what do I need to prepare for the application for the JASSO Scholarship? Thank you very much.

  9. March 2, 2013 1:40 pm

    The JASSO scholarship will be coordinated via Naho san. She’ll get in contact with all incoming students as soon as it is ready to receive application.

  10. Jiggy Ang permalink
    March 2, 2013 11:54 pm

    Ah… Ok. Follow-up question: Is the JASSO Scholarship a sure thing na binibigay or hindi rin?

  11. March 3, 2013 5:21 am

    no it is not a sure thing just like everything else in life🙂

  12. November 4, 2013 4:21 pm

    You made quite a few excellent points there. I Have done a search in the theme and found a good amount of people is going to have the same opinion with your website.

  13. February 8, 2014 7:04 am

    Hi kuya,

    How are you? Are you in Globis now? I got the offer last year but I didn’t managed to go and this year, they sent me an offer again. How are you doing there? Is it good? How about living expenses? Can we work part time in Japan? Thanks.

    Fidelis
    bosing1986@gmail.com/fidelisfrancis@gmail.com

  14. Ghemma permalink
    April 5, 2015 4:12 am

    Hi, at this point in time, how does your MBA degree helped you in your career now? Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. My Student Visa for Japan « Vain Boys don't KILL Themselves!
  2. My MBA Application Essay: “My Statement of Purpose” #TheTokyoProject « Vain Boys don't KILL Themselves!

Leave a Reply

