Skip to content

Love and the Zuellig Building

May 6, 2012

I’ve always had a thing for the Zuellig Building and it is not because of the fact that with just one glance, you can easily admit that it is more than just an architectural marvel, it is a work of art. They way it plays with light, and space, and form, and air, is given. I read a lot and I am confident that the Zuellig Building is at par with what the rest of the world could offer.

But inasmuch as some people would say that this building at the corner of Paseo de Roxas and Makati Avenue in Makati Central Business District gives them the creeps as it feels like “a ghost of a building,” each time I take a look at its near-completed facade gives me that pang in my heart of a love that I once had and inevitably lost.

I once wanted to become an architect, but one of my godfather who was also an architect in Davao scarred the fragile mind of a young idealistic boy during his early “when-I-grow-up-I-want-to-become” years. To put it bluntly, he told me not to become an architect simply because “there’s no money here.” And so I set my eyes to other things in life, something less romantic, something less expressive. My godfather, that godfather, with his one-liner about what is a lucrative career path in life, changed me more than what he might possibly realize.

And maybe this is why when I watch ‘500 Days of Summer’ or ‘How I Met Your Mother,’ I feel some sort of connection to the characters, because even if I  have now fully embraced the world of marketing and business, I am still in awe with magnificent-looking buildings and structures. I am never gonna be ashamed to look up at structures and take pictures. Some people would go ‘wow’ over pristine beaches which I have seen a lot as a kid. You go wild over white sand. I go crazy over man-made structures.

I know the impact of Zuellig Pharma on the Philippines. Just a quick scan of the Philippine Pharmacopoeia or Business World would make one see that clearly. But although my love for architecture is still with me to this very day, the Zuellig Building is more importantly a constant reminder for me about a girl that has a special place in my heart.

I only really dated one girl in my life. I first met her at Starbucks last 2006. We were on, and off, and on, and off, and inasmuch as she saw me at my best, she also saw me at my worst. She was an architect, and to this very moment, I can still vividly recall the things we did and the things we did not do. I am still reminded of the movies we saw, and the stuff we talked about.

One of our constant topics, as expected, was work. Last 2008, she being an architect and as I was trying to put up the Shinagawa Lasik & Aesthetics Center in Makati, we began to talk about the Zuellig Building and how we envisioned it to be. I particularly wanted the 1,000 sqm clinic project I handled at that time to be in Zuellig Building, but as time was of the essence, I could not wait, and we ended up putting it up in The Enterprise Center.

Princess, the last time we got to talk, I was at my worst. And it is one of the reasons I could not be anything more. I know you’re with someone now the last time I checked, and within months away from what could be another major milestone in my life, I have to say it is easier for me to make such decisions, because I know I really have nothing left to lose.

But time passes quickly and I know for a fact that in one way or another, you would Google the words ‘Zuellig Building,’ and this is just me reaching out in one way or another. It is not that I am not vouching for your happiness. But let’s just say I hope you now know that I’m not perfect, and that I’m still here.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2012 9:27 am

    eto yung malapit sa RCBC bldg?? ung last na napunta ako dun, may bakod pa lng for construction.. madaanan minsan😛

  2. May 10, 2012 3:28 pm

    Ah, nope. This is near Mandarin Hotel….

  3. May 10, 2012 3:28 pm

    Ah, nope. This is near Mandarin Hotel….

  4. May 12, 2012 5:16 am

    Nice post and It’s true the building looks impressive.

  5. July 19, 2012 3:29 am

    I was looking for photos of the Zuellig Building, because I’m IN LOVE with it, and found your blog. Hello there, fellow frustrated architect.🙂 I’ll pray for you to find that love you wrote about. Cheers!

  6. jomz permalink
    September 10, 2012 8:43 am

    Nice post… I am glad to see many people appreciating what we have built… This gives me the reason to finish what i have started since excavation time of 2009, and that is the building that you’re appreciating…

  7. Nadz permalink
    September 13, 2012 12:31 pm

    your post gave me goosebumps.. probably because it reminded me of a love once lost, which i had hoped to get back, but never did. i am now happily married and never looked back. i have never thought of him until now.. i dunno why.. probably because your post had all the right emotions in it.
    goodluck to you, i hope you “find” her again.

  8. Nadz permalink
    September 13, 2012 12:35 pm

    btw, i found your post by “googling” zuellig as our office will be moving there next week; there is a high chance “she” will find “you”😉

  9. beah permalink
    October 29, 2012 8:24 pm

    What are the companies renting inside the building aside from GL advisor?

Leave a Reply

