Skip to content

OctobeRun Festival 2011

October 10, 2011

After my self-proclaimed highly-successful comeback to the world of real marathons (read as 42.195kms or at the very least a half thereof) during the 2011 CamSur Marathon, let’s just say my adrenalin has been pumping like crazy all over again in rediscovering what I’ve been missing since I stopped joining these kind of events last year with my last run being the rain-drenched Rock & Run Marathon around July 2010. As such, I was so excited to take on the challenge of another 21kms with the sheer determination, prayers, and hope that I would be faster this time around if not as a personal record, at least in comparison to my actually depressing 2 hours and 30 minutes time for CamSur.

This is why even until 1 AM last Sunday dawn, I was still alive and kicking and cannot seem to contain myself into ensuring I arrive early at BGC so I can start the 21kms route punctually. After all, I seem to have the misfortune of always coming to these kind of events very late which really placed a lot of pressure on me, specifically my legs, to run faster than my usual pace just to keep up. Anyway, after an exasperating experience with the taxi driver that drove me all the way to FTI Tenement (yes, of all the cabbies in the world I got to pick the only one who really doesn’t seem to know the road that will lead to Bonifacio Global City,) I arrived at the Starting Point of OctobeRun Festival 2011 slightly before 4:30 AM. The gun start was around 5:15 AM methinks, and after a few seconds (since I always stay at the middle portion of the crowd as a supposed non-elite runner) I was already zooming my way to freedom.

Funny thing was, even with a couple of toilet checks beforehand, I still felt like taking a leak while running. This is why even though technically I was running non-stop, I had to make 2 pitstops to answer the call of nature. The first one being at McDonald’s Forbestown Square a wee 1 km from the Starting Line and at that vacant area between STI Academic Centre and Market2x on what could possibly be the 17th-km mark.

I almost forgot to mention though that about the same time I crossed the 10km-mark, I felt my stomach churn. This is because for the first time since 2006, I changed my running regimen which includes 1 bar of Snickers and 1 Energy Drink, which as of presstime is Cobra Energy Drink. I dropped the chocolate altogether with the desire to cut down on the weight and substituted it with three (3) thin slices of French bread. After all, I don’t want to have a full meal and run with a heavy stomach which was what I honestly experienced during CamSur. The result: I felt like fainting and could feel myself gliding on air.

I look so fat in this picture above! Haha! Thanks to PinoyFitness.com.

Although there were sufficient hydration stops for water and Pocari Sweat as well as freebie munchies along the road such as Lemon Square rice somethings, bananas, and chocolates, I just couldn’t risk running any longer without anything in my stomach, which by the way I found out, was a very good call. This is why I had to stop by 7-Eleven along Buendia in one of those SM Cyberbuildings to buy a banana. Kudos to that “lady” who allowed me to pay first before “her.”

Anyhoo, even though the darned timers were turned off when I arrived, I think I did sooo much better at around 2 hours 20 minutes plus minus 5 minutes if I were to base it on my Blackberry. In addition, on top of the freebies I got along with the other runners while running, I was just so happy to receive another bottle of ice-cold Pocari Sweat at the finishline. And yes, there’s another lootbag which does not only have fliers inside it but more Lemon Square goodies plus a shiny gold finisher’s medal (as pointed out below) and a finisher’s running shirt. I so love the back design. Makes me wanna wear it 24/7.


UPDATED October 11, 2011: The Official Race Results are out for OctobeRun Festival 2011. I covered the 21kms route in 2 hours 24 minutes and 54 seconds! Woot! Woot!

I can honestly say OctobeRun Festival 2011 is one of the best running events slash marathons I have participated in since 2006 regardless as an actual participant or a sponsor for work. Needless to say, I’ll still be joining next year. One thing I noticed though is that almost everyone who was there had their own running teams. This makes me wonder if I should have my own.

Team King, anyone? *rotfl*

==============================

EXTRA! EXTRA!
==============================

Best answer wins genuine Thermos products! For more information, click here: Mechanics.
To submit your answers in Facebook, click here: http://www.facebook.com/ThermosPH
To submit your answers in Twitter, click here: http://www.twitter.com/ThermosPH

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2011 2:53 am

    sali ako sa team mo.. heheh 😛

  2. October 22, 2011 6:53 pm

    Haha! Sa #TeamKing?

Trackbacks

  1. My New New Balance Running Shoes for 2012 (Goodbye Newton Running Shoes!) « Vain Boys don't KILL Themselves!

Leave a Reply

