Skip to content

No Other Woman (2011)

October 2, 2011

No Other Woman
September 30, 2011
07:30 PM
Cinema 5, FS
Robinsons Galleria
Quezon City

For the first time ever, after a very long time, I watched a movie because of what other people had to say about it on-line, and not the other way around. And so, even with the half-baked interest of a puppy, I purchased my ticket to watch No Other Woman with deflated expectations to match my usual experiences with these kind of movies.

To be clear about this, I actually got confused at first about “No Other Woman” and that other one entitled “My Neighbor’s Wife.” Maybe it’s partly the reason I was so disinterested to watch the former because I got to see the trailer of the latter and found it too corny for comfort. Anyhoo, I finally got to see the movie last Friday. Initially, the guard and those ladies at the entrance of the cinema pissed me off since they were like sooo into counting the number of movie goers for obvious PR purposes that they completely forgot some people’s sentimentalities, which is why I wasn’t able to watch this movie from the start.

Heck! The way the guards “processed” me as well as the other movie goers was worse than airport security. This is the reason I felt like tweeting inside the cinemas because I personally believed that the movie, on top of the fact that my mood was already messed up, had very big shoes to fill. But the thing is, No Other Woman, which topbills Cristine Reyes, Anne Curtis, and Derek Ramsay, grew on me in a matter of minutes. Yes, the shame of it all…. but a good movie, no, a great movie, deserves all the so-called praises even from a self-proclaimed movie critic like me.

On the first onslaught, No Other Woman had all the clichés of a steamy love triangle story. On the business side of it, the terminologies were just as academic as what you can probably hear from 100 Days to Heaven. And yet, soon enough, what tickled my fancy on top of the very wonderful extras (e.g. that sales girl that said, “Marami pa po kaming stocks niyan, Ma’am” as well as that maitre d’ slash receptionist at Seventh High) were surprisingly the actual plot and the actors of the movie.

I found the setting very nice as well since I’ve personally been to some of the more popular locations such as Mercato Centrale slash Midnight Mercato (with the exception of Bellarocca which I swear I’ll visit come Summer 2012) for several times and to see it utilized as such added a dash or reality to this movie. Although it felt a wee bit like product placements, it soon became hazy (especially with all the gadgets utilized for the movie) as the undeniable acting prowess of Anne Curtis, Cristine Reyes, and even Derek Ramsay saw the light of day. Even Carmi Martin deserves recognition for her role as well.

Yes, the movie was cheesy with all the quotable lines that would basically last forever. But what I really appreciate is how the story evolved and how wonderful the casting was really well thought out, with the exception of that baby at the ending. I initially though Cristine Reyes was a bad choice for a woman any sane guy would cheat on, but she did act out her role in a way which would justify why a Derek Ramsay would marry her yet had the audacity to do some sidetrips with the Anne Curtises of this world. Derek Ramsay was just OK. Although I can basically say he could really act and can survive showbiz with his shirt on and a protruding beer belly later in life, what I found interesting was that he didn’t overpower the emotions and the characters played out by the 2 women of his life. In fact, I found the development of the love triangle more believable albeit fast-paced compared to the misery and “longingness” shown by Rachel MacAdams and Eric Bana in The Time-Traveler’s Wife.

Now, to say Anne Curtis owns this movie is an understatement. Seeing her in person for the first time at NAIA while she tried to sleep with a carefree manner on one of the metal benches during my college days and watching her regularly on Showtime gave me the impression that she’s actually a nice and approachable superstar. With No Other Woman, the way she handled the role as a happy-go-lucky heiress to a Hermes-carrying whore to a catty mistress to a lovesick puppy with those craaazy eyes in the end gave me the shivers. She was hot. She was sexy. She was scary.

A lot can be said why this movie is going to be, if not already is, the biggest Pinoy blockbuster for 2011. But as a person who got to watch this with no inclination at all to have pictures taken with local celebrities, then triumvirate of Cristine Reyes, Derek Ramsay, and Anne Curtis has given our local tinsetown something to cheer about and their acting, in my honest opinion, has raised the bar of drama in more ways than one. I’ve always thought the future of showbiz is with the so-called indie films such as Thelma, Zombadings, and Ang Babae Sa Septic Tank. No Other Woman has made it very clear that mainstream movie producers still has the magic touch after all.

Congratulations.

P.S. No Other Woman as well as the abovementioned indie movies has placed a lot of pressure on this year’s Metro Manila Film Festival, eh?

==============================
EXTRA! EXTRA!
==============================

Best answer wins genuine Thermos products! For more information, click here: Mechanics.
To submit your answers in Facebook, click here: http://www.facebook.com/ThermosPH
To submit your answers in Twitter, click here: http://www.twitter.com/ThermosPH

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2011 6:35 pm

    movie blogger ka rin pala :p

  2. October 5, 2011 6:19 am

    Nice review…. I’ve heard a lot of good things about this movie. Will catch it this weekend….

  3. barbara permalink
    October 5, 2011 1:09 pm

    Hahaha bentang benta talaga itong palabas na ito. Naiyak ako kay Cristine Reyes promise! Carmi & Anne were both hilarious!

  4. October 7, 2011 12:03 am

    I love this movie! Sana may sequel ito na “No Other Man!” Hay….. Nice article btw….

  5. October 7, 2011 7:05 am

    Ang buhay ay parang Quiapo! Hahahahaha! Benta!

Trackbacks

  1. No Other Woman. « Free to Write.
  2. No Other Woman XD (some quotes and review) « Smokebear
  3. Praybeyt Benjamin (2011) « Vain Boys don't KILL Themselves!

Leave a Reply

