Skip to content

CamSur Marathon 2011 #CamSurMarathon #CamSurMarathon2011

September 25, 2011

Today is a very special day for me. After all, this day marks my comeback to the world of running and marathons after putting a stop to full- and half-marathons last year due to the rising registration fees and plain lack of interest.  I was fortunate enough to be able to participate in the 21kms route for the CamSur Marathon 2011 finishing in a matter of 2 hours, 30 minutes, and 30 seconds. This is honestly slower than 15 minutes from my previous records, and not near my desire to beat the 2-hour timeframe, but given I have not gone to the gym since last year and I only get to run 10kms on weekends, this was, to quote Paolo Soler,  “not bad” at all.

Update: October 10, 2011 – Official Race Results are out! My official chip time for 21Kms is 02:30:18! 

Although I have participated in 2 events this year specifically the Philippine Independence Day Half-Marathon and the Sofitel Moonlit Run, those were basically short distances, and both were actually for free. Yes, I’m a cheapskate like that. Hehehe. Moreover, with the exception of Men’s Health All-Terrain Race last 2008, I never really participated in any running events outside of Metro Manila.

So given I was dropping by in the area for business matters, I felt obliged to take the opportunity of participating in the only marathon in the country that is certified by both IAAF and AIMS. Moreover, given CamSur is a qualifier for the world-renowned Boston Marathon, who knows maybe I can join in that event. Boston is not thaaat far from Missouri, right? Or maybe my geography is completely f*cked up.

Anyway, as excited as I am, I woke up as early as past midnight and went to CamSur Watersports Complex before 2 AM. I was one of the early birds, really. It was a good thing I got bored and started reading the banners and found out eventually that the starting point of the 21km-runners was not where I was currently bidding time.

Anyhoo, the run was very memorable. The people of Naga, Pili, and the adjacent areas were very warm just like the weather. Hehehe. So all in all, I did enjoy the run. Thank goodness I did not decide to go all the way with 42 kms otherwise I would have fainted somewhere in the 20-km mark. I’m so excited to see some pictures on-line. Truth be told, I tried my best to really look good on camera for this event. Hehehe. I was just kinda disappointed that not a lot of things can be done at the activity area at the finish line. There were no food good enough for breakfast and most of the booths closed shop way before I could even have my turn (read as Alaska, and AKTV photobooth.) I am quite grateful for the laundry bag from Smart Communications. Kinda useful really if you ask me.

And so, perhaps next year, I’ll be back again. I dunno if I can take on the full 42.195km route or stick with the half-marathon still. Anyway, I have another 21kms to conquer in next weekend’s Octoberun. Who knows? I might be all fit and ready for a full one in a couple of months time.

And now, I have to sleep. Wake me up when September ends.

==============================
EXTRA! EXTRA!
==============================

Best answer wins genuine Thermos products! For more information, click here: Mechanics.
To submit your answers in Facebook, click here: http://www.facebook.com/ThermosPH
To submit your answers in Twitter, click here: http://www.twitter.com/ThermosPH

Leave a Reply

