Skip to content

Don’t Be Afraid Of The Dark (2010)

September 15, 2011


Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark
September 15, 2011
07:45 PM
Cinema 2, Seat J13 (But I transferred to G10 because of those noisy bunch of kids on row K!)
Trinoma
Quezon City

This movie initially did not register on my radar. The reason I found myself wanting to watch this movie tonight was because of that simple 3D poster (with the shadow effect) that really picked my curiosity. It was only after I posted about it on Facebook and tweeted (on Twitter, of course) that I found out that the genius behind it is the same genius behind Blade II, Pan’s Labyrinth and the Hellboy movies: Guillermo del Toro. Unfortunately, the actual director is another fella named Troy Nixey. If a Wikipedia entry holds much water about a person’s credibility, you’d find it interesting why del Torro has a Wiki page whilst Nixey doesn’t have any at all as of presstime.

Anyway, the movie wasn’t really as scary as I thought. On certain metrics, it can be compared to Drag Me To Hell, but the thing is, Drag Me To Hell was so much more fun to watch compared to this movie. Although I really expected a B-movie (which was later rebutted by Colin,) I am just so sad to finally get to see it and leave the cinema half-empty. I think the plot was kinda shallow and for some reason, I can never really gauge if Sally, the character played by the kid actress Bailee Madison, is 100% smart or 100% stupid.

I was also depressed with Guy Pearce. He used to be such a talented actor in Memento even with the not so popular roles in Time Machine & that extra-bit in The King’s Speech. For some reason in this movie, he felt like a non-entity, a space-filler in-between Sally’s cries and those oh-so-freaky-whispering voices from underneath.

The only consolation I have is seeing Katie Holmes DIE in the end. I really loathe her because of her leaving the revamped Batman franchise. Oh well, unluckily for you, The Dark Knight is a classic and it does not have you in it, Mrs. Tom Cruise! Anyway, it was such a pure joy the way to see her dragged to the ends of ze earth the way it felt like with Paris Hilton in House of Wax.

Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark doesn’t leave so much room for the imagination as what I’ve experienced with Insidious or Let Me In. To be honest about it, I’d rather you take my word for it and don’t watch it at all.

==============================
EXTRA! EXTRA!
==============================

Best answer wins genuine Thermos products! For more information, click here: Mechanics.
To submit your answers in Facebook, click here: http://www.facebook.com/ThermosPH
To submit your answers in Twitter, click here: http://www.twitter.com/ThermosPH

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

