Skip to content

One Day (2011)

August 29, 2011

One Day
August 28, 2011
10:00 PM
Cinema 1, Seat L19
Robinsons Galleria
Quezon City

I have always been critical about how love has been presented in the movies. Recent examples would be how I adored Steve Carrell in “Crazy, Stupid, Love” and how much I think the kids in “Prom” don’t know what they are talking about. This is why I was really interested to watch “One Day” in the cinemas which strangely reminded me of the mushiest film I ever saw in a theatre and that is “If Only” starring Jennifer Love Hewitt and that guy who cries every single step of the way second of the day, Paul Nicholls.

Now, just to give you a quick run-down of the plot, this is a love story that spans decades and yet they seem to have only one day for each other year after year, hence the title. Come to think of it, this plot is somewhat similar to Brokeback Mountain (Yes, I’ve seen it inasmuch as I’ve seen a lot of gay-themed movies that’s worth 2 hours of my movie-watching life such as the fatalistic “A Single Man,” the duh-so-obvious “Heights,” and the fantabulousBruno!”) Anyway, although this movie’s underlying concept is that they only have 1 day for each other, to be honest about it, that’s not a mutual feeling since Anne Hathaway’s character, Emma, is truly, madly, and deeply in love with Dexter as played by Jim Sturgess of “Across the Universe.”

As such, we are shown a very long timeline of how 2 lovers connected and bonded in sexual, intellectual, and emotional manners. What even “hurts” the most, and I dare put the quotation marks to show I am just being objective about that statement and I did not weep or have heart-wrenching guilt while watching this film, is that they don’t seem to be available for each other at the same time in their lives.

This movie reminds me a lot of my own rollercoaster personal life. Period. Hehehe. Cue, Richard Marx.

Anyway, I highly suggest you watch this movie especially for everyone who feels like giving up, has given up, or feels like they have yet to find their one true love. If the plot is not enough to move you, this movie will make you feel nostalgic as you see fashion and hairstyles change across time as technologies improve and the current pop music plays in the background. I also think this film makes use of the best graphics in showing the current “date” the movie is in which is cleverly “visibly hidden” for your visual pleasure!

I also highly suggest though that you don’t catch this at Robinsons Movieworld Galleria because for some reason I can never fathom, same with the other people in the theatre, they completely fouled up the mechanism of simply playing the movie/reel not once, not twice, not thrice, which is something I have never experienced for a very…. long…. time.

“One Day” is a great date movie even if, to quote Dexter’s father, you only act as if the love of your life is right beside you all these time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. GEB permalink
    September 10, 2011 11:45 am

    Is this anything like A Lot Like Love? The plot seems similar. Digging your reviews, keep it up. As a newbie to blogging, I have to say your stuff is inspiring.

  2. September 11, 2011 12:16 pm

    Yes, it is a lot like “A Lot Like Love” but less comedy….. 🙂 Thanks for the comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

