Skip to content

Captain America (2011)

August 3, 2011

Captain America
July 27, 2011
2040 hours
Cinema 3,
Eastwood Citywalk 2,
Quezon City

As soon as I tweeted “My Captain, my Captain. Please don’t fail me” last week several people following me on Twitter (or as soon as I posted a Status update…. several of my Facebook Friends) told me not to be so darned critical about the movie and let the kid in me rule for at least a couple of hours or so. To be honest, even if I did, I wouldn’t connect much to this so-called First Avenger because all the while I was still in grade school, all I ever had was Batman, X-Men, Thundercats, Flying House, and, uhm, Winnie the Pooh. The Avengers were never my thing. And although I did find Ironman I and (the second) Hulk fun, sadly Ironman II, the first Hulk, and even Thor was such a bore for me.

This is why when I just can’t help but get amused with Captain America, I have to say this is my most objective positive movie review narrative to date! It’s sad though because I only got to post about this movie tonight since I’ve been very for the Thermos Grand Launch, but then again, I don’t really feel the need to blog to affect other people’s movie-watching decisions inasmuch as when I decide what to watch, I watch it out of my own accord. I’m just a little sad that I wasn’t able to tweet or rave about the movie on-line with the rest of the planet. After all, this time around, the all GP-fun of Captain America, the subtle innuendos, the ubergreat effects (which reminded me a lot of Benjamin Button), the fights, the menacing red-face Agent Smith with high cheekbones, made me a part of the crowd for a very long time.

I hope more superhero movies would be like this soon enough especially since with the release of “The Amazing Spiderman” trailer, it seems post-“Batman Begins” era, all superheroes seemed to be reprised as brooding, dark human beings with issues reminiscent of Marshall Mathers himself. This might’ve worked for the Caped Crusader or, Bond. James Bond. But a lot of heroes trying this supposed reinvented formula might spoil the fun especially if it won’t fit perfectly. Anyhoo, the real judging about that “Spiderman Origin” won’t happen anytime soon.

Back to Captain America, I also appreciate the fact that this movie has “double teasers,” which were the decades after Captain America woke up and went-a-running at Times Square plus the much-talked about Avengers Teaser Trailer. Now, after seeing this movie, I’m finally convinced The Avengers is a movie with a very big expectations to fill. Can’t hardly wait.

==============================
EXTRA! EXTRA!
==============================

Best answer wins genuine Thermos products! For more information, click here: Mechanics.
To submit your answers in Facebook, click here: http://www.facebook.com/ThermosPH
To submit your answers in Twitter, click here: http://www.twitter.com/ThermosPH

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

