Skip to content

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 (2011)

July 19, 2011


Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2
July 14, 2011
2150 hours
Cinema 4,
Eastwood Citywalk 2,
Quezon City

I’ve never been a big fan of Harry Potter although for all intents and purposes I’ve read (more appropriately skimmed) Books 1 up to 7. As for the movie versions, I’ve seen Daniel Radcliffe grow from a puny kid to an adolescent version of that puny kid but now with unruly chest hair that can rival yours truly (They just had to show that, didn’t they, especially with what Harry was up to in-between takes?) with the exception of the last installment’s first half (read as Part 1). I really don’t know what I was doing at that time why I missed such a supposed must-see movie, but come to think of it, I really don’t care. For me, watching the latest Harry Potter over the past decade is similar to some buying this season’s Havaianas: it’s just a misguided attempt to “fit-in.”

I have to commend J.K. Rowling for coming up with a book that really defined a generation. Moreover, I do believe her works have directly or indirectly increased literacy or interest in literature at this time and age of Facebook and Twitter (Google+ notwithstanding.) If she ever gets awarded a Nobel Prize for Literature well by all means do so. However, as what you can prolly surmise from the fact that although I have seen the movie way earlier than majority of this movie-going world, Harry Potter, even to the very end, was never my cup of tea.

I see Harry Potter or, more specifically, this last installment, as reminiscent of Star Wars or The Dark Knight. I would like to believe it’s all about the good guys, but where would these franchises be without Darth Vader and The Joker, respectively? This is why although I feel happy to see Daniel Radcliffe and the gang mature (to a fault, if we were to look at the extremely interesting yet somewhat laughable older versions of themselves into the last pages slash minutes of the film), and yes I do feel bad seeing Remus Lupin and Nymphadora Tonks in their deathly poses, and yes I do feel sad for Severus Snape, I think HP7P2 is actually a Lord Voldemort movie. Maybe it’s the reason why Fiona Weir ensured that nobody less than Ralph Fiennes himself take-on the challenging role of He-Who-Cannot-Be-Easily-Cast. Cuteness and heartwrenching drama, after all, can only do so much. You need the Dark Lord, Bellatrix Lestrange, and the rest of the Death Eaters to ensure  a movie to become twice as fun and magically brilliant.

Now what in the world are we gonna wait for next year?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

