Skip to content

Mr. Popper’s Penguins (2011)

June 18, 2011


Mr. Popper’s Penguins
June 18, 2011
1950 hours
Cinema 3,
Robinsons Galleria,
Quezon City

I’ve always been a Jim Carrey fan so it was a no-brainer that I watched Mr. Popper’s Penguins out of support for this guy. Although I found the official trailer adorable, I really thought this movie might be too “weird” for comfort. Little did I know this was based on a book. And once again, even without the presence of such penguins, I was once again reminded why I adore Jim Carrey.

Comedy is quite difficult. I might be wrong but I believe character actors can easily make people angry or cry, and in the case of Philippines cinemas, just a wee bit of slap here and there and you’re entitled to win an award. But for comedy, yikes! It takes a real genius to make people laugh. Of course, we have the usual parodies and slapsticks like Epic Movie and Drag Race. But for one to make people laugh because of the innate humor of a joke or one’s acting takes a lot of skill. In fact, it’s not just a skill. It takes talent!

This is why I love the fact that this movie features a lot of the legendary Charlie Chaplin. Although arguably Jim Carrey is still not there, I really appreciate the fact that I believe this guy has really grown as a comedian. His jokes are almost always original and his outlook on humor is always fresh. Some jokes might alienate or not appeal to a lot such as references to the Beatles or a lot of metaphors not usually found in Archie comics. But then again, Jim Carrey was never meant for everyone.

To sum it all up, even with all the snow, Mr. Popper’s Penguins is a very heartwarming movie. This might not be Jim Carrey’s greatest, but it sure is one of the most lovable.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

