Skip to content

Thor (2011)

May 3, 2011

Thor
May 1, 2011
XXXX hours
Cinema 6,
Trinoma,
Quezon City

Even with the risk of having all the might of ze gods smite me, I would have to say that “Thor” was such a bore. Yes, it had some funny moments especially when the Thor character, which was then in mere mortal form, found it difficult to adjust his godly ways and means in the current realm he found himself to be in. However, looking at the bigger picture, one can easily say that it was an anticlimax. The trailers and the initial spotting thanks to “Iron Man 2” made things quite difficult for this lone character to sustain the overwhelming interest. Only God knows how much the endgame – the actual Avengers movie – should do in order to keep the audience entertained. Maybe Thor had to keep his shirt off all the time? That seemed to make the girls and some, uhm, guys, wildly amused. Hehehe.

Anyway, it was also during the Thor screening that I first got to see the trailer for “X-Men: First Class”. Now, that’s what I can honestly say as undeniably cool. Although the charm of superhero prequels can be, as far as I know, generally be attributed to the Dark Knight, this new installment of our favourite class of mutants is surely something that would deliver its raw mindbending and magnetic power. Pun intended.

Going back to Thor, I’m not so crazy about the movie. The plot was kinda too short and as I write this entry right now, I cannot mention one daring action sequence which can make me go “ooh” and “aah” all over again. In fact, it was so boring that I was able to finish my McDonald’s cheeseburger meal, my Holy Kettle Corn, and my nachos long before Thor was banished into the ends of the earth. Yes, that’s how boring it was.

But Natalie Portman sure was pretty.

Leave a Reply

