Skip to content

PSBank Savings Account

May 3, 2011

After 2 paydays in my new job, I am quite happy that I found it easier to save up for the rainy days basically due to 3 main factors. First, I found my financial package suitable for my responsibilities and current actual needs. Second, actual words omitted for purposes of privacy and other whatnots. And, finally, the headquarters of Collins International Trading Corporation is in such a desolate place that if ever I wanted to have coffee, my options are just Jollibee, McDonald’s, or 7-Eleven. How cheap, right?

Anyway, no more Starbucks within walking distance! Can you just imagine how much pesosesoses I have saved directly because of my daily inaccessibility to the Green Mermaid? Of course, I have my own coffee press and ground beans tucked in my nook, but that’s even more cost-efficient at P350 per bag which lasts me a good 2-3 weeks.

So, in short, I was quite excited that soon enough I can once again revitalize my stocks portfolio especially with the juicy tidbit I heard about actual words omitted because I am a selfish SOB buwahahaha. Or, I can buy a new laptop since my humble Dell Mini Inspiron gave up on me a couple of months ago. I have a new laptop for work though but since the security settings are too strict for comfort, I’d rather have my own personal laptop for my own Dotcom coding dreams.

Anyway, until that fateful day arrives that I have finally decided on whether to splurge on a gadget, buy some more stocks, or have that long overdue vacation, I decided to withdraw the extra cash I have on my payroll ATM and open a passbook savings account instead. My first choice was East West Bank, which was where I had my last 2 bank accounts (all closed now, obviously) but since no branch of the Gotianum-owned institution was in sight, my only other choices were the usual Metrobank, BPI (which is already out of my options since I don’t want to bank where my payroll account is maintained), BDO, and PSBank. Of course, there were Security Bank and Chinabank branches, but I didn’t like the look and feel of their facade. As a marketer, I’d like to be marketed as well. Really.

If I were most people, I would have opted for BDO. But then again, knowing that BDO ATMs and branches were everywhere, I found their uber-accessibility as both a fault and a liability. This bank by the SM Group really made it easy for people to shop, shop, shop, which was exactly the opposite of my goal: save, save, save! And so, I focused my eyes on either Metrobank or PSBank. Obviously, since I had a short affiliation with the latter, I decided to open a bank account with the good ol’ savings bank instead.

Knowing the things I had to present (read as Anti-Money Laundering Act of 2001) and the fact that there were no other people inside the branch, my bank transaction was quickly served and processed. But what I found to be very interesting was the barcode system I found in the inside front cover. What can I say? What a very innovative idea. Te-hee!

Anyway, it’s just cool to see something like this come into fulfilment. I do hope I can save enough money in time for the 13th month pay and other possible bonuses *crosses fingers* so I can buy more stocks of Company X, Y, and Z.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Noel permalink
    May 3, 2011 2:19 pm

    Hoping the change in the coming weeks will convince you, a marketer, to re-consider banking with EastWest.

  2. king del rosario permalink
    May 4, 2011 4:04 am

    Sure, sure. 🙂

  3. Dorothy permalink
    August 10, 2011 2:11 pm

    thanks! 🙂 that’s how psbank takes care of you 🙂

    continue saving! 🙂

  4. August 13, 2011 1:48 pm

    talaga lang ha…. *rotfl*

  5. Dorothy permalink
    August 15, 2011 7:30 am

    Haha sure! You were affiliated with them for a time, you should know. 🙂 haha Do they?

Leave a Reply

