Skip to content

QCIM 2009

October 19, 2009


Here are my pictures during the first Quezon City International Marathon last October 18, 2009 (hence the traffic jam). I participated in the full course at 42kms and finished at 5 hours and 21 minutes. Not that fast, but earlier than predicted at 5 hours and 30 minutes (not to mention not as emotionally devastating as the 33rd Milo Marathon Eliminations, well, at least for my case). Anyhoo, I have once again remembered never to underestimate the last 3 kilometers.

The event was a huge success me thinks and hopefully we get more participants from the International Crowd next time. Kudos to those Kenyans who I believe has everything working for their advantage (picture2x!). After all, they come from Africa! Our scorching Manila sun cannot compare to what they have there! Grrr… Hehehe. Funny thing is, they were so fast, I was never able to see them run. Not even at the starting line or the U-Turn slots. Pbft.

Just want to voice out minor complaints though. First, no water in La Mesa Dam? Kinda ironic, but I think it would have been less torture for my part (and some others) if they informed us ahead of time that there are no water stations inside the Ecopark. Second, water shortage right after La Mesa Dam? Arghhh! Finally, I think some of the booths closed prematurely. I feel bad for those who came later than I did. No more freebies for them. Kamtotinkopit. I also didn’t get any. Sigh.

As for all the tempers lost especially those coming from the motorists, with all due respect, the banners about the event were up at least a month ago. I also heard a lot of advisories over TV and radio and print – and I hardly watch TV or listen to the radio! I know, I know, the general public should not suffer for the enjoyment of a select few, but just to be fair about it, it does pay to notice those banners along the streets once in a while.

Keep on smiling!


Here are my pictures during the first Quezon City International Marathon last October 18, 2009 (hence the traffic jam). I participated in the full course at 42kms and finished at 5 hours and 21 minutes. Not that fast, but earlier than predicted at 5 hours and 30 minutes. Anyhoo, I have once again remembered never to underestimate the last 3 kilometers.

As for all the tempers lost especially those coming from the motorists, with all due respect, the banners about the event were up at least a month ago. I also heard a lot of advisories over TV and radio and print – and I hardly watch TV or listen to the radio! I know, I know, the general public should not suffer for the enjoyment of a select few, but just to be fair about it, it does pay to notice those banners along the streets once in a while.

Keep on smiling!


Leave a Reply

