Skip to content

Kimmydora (2009)

September 6, 2009

kimmydoraposter

Kimmydora
5:50 PM, September 5, 2009
Cinema 6, Glorietta,
Makati City
HBS

I rarely watch Pinoy films and should I watch one, I rarely end up not regretting watching it. Even with the sudden influx of Pinoy Indie Films, well, I can still proudly say that I was never part of this artistic fad (although I must say I’ve been casted to take part in one. Wahehehe). However, for the case of Kimmydora, I have to give my 100% hands down to the new superstar of Philippine Comedy. Her name is Eugene Domingo and by all means, she is here to stay.

I’m not gonna discuss one by one the jokes that got to me and the jokes that didn’t. Let’s just safe it’s safe to say that even with the presence of Dingdong Dantes and Jinggoy Estrada, majority of the movie can still be considered as funny.

One can even say this so-called blockbuster coronation is long overdue. Sure, Ai-Ai de las Alas may still be the queen bee, but given the innate talent Eugene Domingo has on comedy, it’s safe to say she’s not so far away from reaching the top. I sure do hope she remains humble though just like Ai-Ai. Congratulations Eugene Domingo. You’re worth the P130 that Citibank paid for our tickets. Hehehe.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. paul permalink
    September 6, 2009 2:01 pm

    i wonder which indie film that is

  2. September 8, 2009 12:02 am

    @ paul: lolz

  3. Sungit permalink
    September 8, 2009 7:55 pm

    “Even with the sudden influx of Pinoy Indie Films, well, I can still proudly say that I was never part of this artistic fad (although I must say I’ve been casted to take part in one. Wahehehe).”

    First of all, this is not to question your taste in films–everyone is entitled to his/her opinion. But boasting that you’re “proud” of not being part of the “artistic fad,” like it’s some great life achievement is just way off.

    If you don’t like Indie films, then fine, don’t watch them. But really, you have no business dissing the industry (and calling it a “fad,” like it’s some phase that no longer exists).

    Lastly–tulad ng mga salitang Broadcast, put, cut, born, etc.– walang past tense ang salitang “cast.”

  4. September 9, 2009 5:55 am

    Thanks for the comment, “Sungit”. I appreciate it. Like 99.99% of the world’s bloggers slash movie critics, I have no (sufficient) professional achievements in the world of entertainment to support my opinion. But then again, just like everyone else, i do it anyway.

    As for Indie Films being a fad, we can continue this deliberation, say, in a couple of years. By then it’s going to be clear if I am wrong or if I am correct.

    As for casted, please read my disclaimer below my blog’s title: These blog is created without grammar & spell check. Please be considerate.I know English should be practiced with utmost vigilance, but between my dayjob, running, and breathing oxygen, I don’t think of it as a personal requirement to ensure that my blog posts would get A+ in every academic institution. Anyway, correcting other people’s English even though it’s not the main point of an argument like it’s some great life achievement is just way off. 🙂

  5. Sungit permalink
    September 9, 2009 10:05 am

    Cheers! Love the defensive reply. 🙂

  6. Sungit permalink
    September 9, 2009 10:06 am

    Cheers! Love the defensive reply. And the excuses (dayjob, running, and breathing oxygen)! Yeah, those things are really hard to balance. 🙂

  7. September 9, 2009 11:32 am

    oh. i was being sarcastic. 🙂

Leave a Reply

