Skip to content

District 9 (2009)

August 31, 2009

district-9-poster

District 9
6:15 PM, August 30, 2009
Cinema 1, Greenbelt 3
Makati City
HBS

I was able to watch District 9 last night, and just like everyone else who did, I wanted to watch it the first time I saw its trailer around 2 weeks ago. Just like a phantom in the night (lame simile), the movie was unheard of (at least for me) but when I finally got to watch it, I must say it is very very good.

I guess part of my loving the movie is because I came without expectations. It wasn’t hyped after all. But a few minutes into the movie, I was pretty sure it would deliver – and it did. The plot was kinda new, but not 100% original. Heck, alien invasion has devastated cities like New York and France for a long, long time. But Johannesburg? Now, that’s something.

Second, the acting was superb. Even the extras were convincing enough that this kind of out-of-this-world apartheid is actually going on. The editing, the mixing, the effects – perfect! Of course, it seemed dragging in the middle, but a few short twists and turns and the movie is once again back on track.

But what I really love is the ending. It’s not the best ending, but it is still full of hope. It really felt like Africa. Even with all the aliens and space ships in flight, District 9 is all about Africa and the complexities which makes this entire continent both heaven and hell depending on your skin color.

I highly recommend this movie. If you love 28 Days Later, you’re in for a treat.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

