Skip to content

Globe Run for Home

July 19, 2009

190720091087Yay! Although I was late (once again) by 8 minutes as shown by that big Timex Digital Watch, I still managed to make a respectable 21K record by finishing Globe Telecom’s Run for Home Half-Marathon within 2’16” (or 2’8″ if you will be so kind and allow me to offset my tardiness). Unfortunately, I was still slower than my 2’01” record during the Condura Run or technically with Botak PaaTibayan 2009 as well. Hmmm, I can still raise the lousy dengue excuse? Hehe.

Anyway, I love it! The race was well-organized and I felt like I was a Haile Gebrselassie in the making. I really adore that chip technology so all hats out to Coach Rio and Globe Telecom for making this work. It also doesn’t hurt that it’s a run made especially for Habitat for Humanity.

It’s also a memorable event because I have now finally got to run along Ayala Avenue, Paseo de Roxas, and Makati Avenue. Seeing all those irate drivers was something worth noticing while I steadily made my way back to the finish line. Perhaps next time, race organizers would also inform the rest of the world (e.g. affected traffic/drivers) about upcoming races. If you were in their shoes, you’d be irate as well. Hehe.

I’m just sad though that the “model” assigned at the 100 Plus booth was bitchy inconsiderate enough in explaining why there were no more freebie 100 Plus to be given away. Yes, baby, I’m complaining on-line and hope you’d learn to smile next time.

After all, it’s not nice to know that after falling in line for just 10 minutes, you’re just gonna be handed out a bottle of uncold mineral water which we could have all gotten easily from other booths or if you are a cheapskate like me, those Manila Water thingamajigs all around the activity area.

Anyway, here’s to hoping all succeeding major races will have the same efficiency and technology! Congratulations everyone!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2009 7:04 pm

    Great short story! Keep it up

  2. August 3, 2009 3:57 am

    Bakit naman short story? Hehe. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

