Skip to content

Drag Me To Hell (2009)

June 8, 2009

drag-me-to-hell-poster
Drag Me To Hell
Cinema 1, 6:45 PM
June 8, 2009
Greenbelt 3, Ayala Center,
Makati City
CB

Drag Me To Hell isn’t a movie, it is a joke. To be honest, I really found their trailer to be very engrossing and I expected something, well, serious. I had my reservations which leaned into thinking this movie might be how a certain M. Night Shyamalan ends his, well, movies. But nope, it was a true-blue horror flick. Just ignore the stupid moments.

I wouldn’t have to mention that the effects were great. Though some were very CG-ish, but who cares really, into the first 20 minutes and you’d realize that to “scare” you is not Sam Raimi’s ultimate goal. As soon as the movie title loudly flashed on screen during the first few minutes gave me all the explanation I needed. This movie is THAT kind of movie. Brace yourself, King, for something very campy.

It has its own “frightening moments” as what a certain girl said over Facebook said  which she truthfully admitted as a way to get close during dates. Hehehe. On the other hand, it had its stupid moves which really made you wanna laugh. It was both shocking at times especially with the very great loud sound editing. But even though the character of Sylvia Ganush was initially scary, she made me laugh at the edge of my seat even more. She is a character to remember. She’s not Dracula or even Sadako for me, but I wouldn’t mind seeing her for this year’s Halloween costumes.

Yes, yes, the movie was predictable especially with the button-coin debacle. After all the drama Christine Brown had at the cemetery, you just knew she had it coming. But just like all movie goers who dared to watch a movie entitled “Drag Me To Hell”. Just like me, you had it coming.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2009 7:50 am

    correct. drag me to hell because it wasn’t scary. it was hilarious.

  2. July 13, 2009 1:38 am

    aba umabot na si pamchan sa wordpress ko! welcome!

Trackbacks

  1. Jennifer’s Body (2009) « Vain Boys don’t KILL Themselves!
  2. Insidious (2010) « Vain Boys don’t KILL Themselves!
  3. Don’t Be Afraid Of The Dark (2010) « Vain Boys don’t KILL Themselves!

Leave a Reply

