Skip to content

Botak Paatibayan 2009

May 11, 2009

Copy of 10052009458

I am so happy. Really. First of all, I thought I was running late for my second attempt to conquer 21 kms. I wasn’t late. They were (read as the start of the race).

Second, this event would cap my first year of documented running and so, I am proud to say that since May 18, 2008, I have ran a total of 175.83 kms.

Anyway, I do have a lot of complaints as well. This is me, after all, a complete whiner. First, starting late means running under the scorching heat of the sun. I was dehydrated more than usual, which I think would have been prevented minimized if summer runs/races/marathons started earlier.

Second, I think there was a shortage of water and plastic cups.

Third, I didn’t get lost. A lot of full marathon participants did. So I would like to assume, there was something wrong with the guides/marks/etc. (I am also wondering if the 21 km track was in fact 21 kms. It felt too long, really. Or was that because of the heat of the sun?

Anyway, I ended up a li’l over than what I expected to finish with. I was able to complete the race at 2 hours and 12 minutes or so. Let’s just wait that the official results are somewhat similar.

Since I already had 2 races for May, I have decided not to join either Microsoft or Earth Day Runs. Not only because I think my legs deserve a break because I will still run at UP Diliman, but because I think this hobby is getting too addictive hence getting too costly. Hahaha!

Anyway, keep on running everyone. To all the people I got to talk to while running, see you next time!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2009 2:58 pm

    hehe congrats with your finish. you have to consider yourself lucky that you didnt get lost. in fact you have to consider that by itself as an accomplishment(for reading maps/knowing the makati roads/simply asking for directions). it was a complete pandemonium out there(especially when the 42ers met the tail end of the 21ers)!

  2. May 12, 2009 12:51 am

    hehehe, i used to live in san antonio/yakal area for 4 years. i know makati very much. hehehe!

  3. sfrunner permalink
    May 12, 2009 1:03 am

    King, first time checking out your site and it’s great.

    BTW. congratulations on the finish on Sunday. I’ve read a number of the blogs and it’s sad that an event turns out that way. I’ve learned to weed out the bad races from the good ones here in the U.S. Hopefully, Botak will lean their mistakes and will have a better output next year.

    Take care and continue the great posts.

    Wayne
    http://runnersf.blogspot.com

  4. May 12, 2009 1:49 am

    Thanks Wayne! Keep on running as well.

Trackbacks

  1. Globe Run for Home « Vain Boys don’t KILL Themselves!

Leave a Reply

