Skip to content

Wolverine (2009)

May 4, 2009


Wolverine
8:05 PM, May 1, 2009
Cinema 6, Trinoma, Quezon City
A

The only bad thing going for X-Men Origins: Wolverine is that I had so high an expectation that after watching the movie, I really felt disappointed. Sure, sure, it’s still at the level of cool. But with all the hype, the anticipation, and my sheer loyalty to really watch it at the movies and not merely buy a you-know-what which was already out in the you-kn0w-where before Holy Week, the movie felt too soft.

I have no problem with Wolverine as a character in the movie. But given his so-called complicated past, I think dedicating around 2 hours for it is too quick for comfort. I also hate the “brothers angle” with Sabretooth. If I wanted something so “heartwarming” I would have watched 17 Again instead.

In addition, Gambit doesn’t feel like Gambit. And Deadpool as a character was destroyed by Ryan Reynolds. I love Ryan Reynolds, really, but watching him in this particular movie felt like watching Blade Trinity (same acting, right?). And oh, did you see Professor X? It seemed like before saving the young mutants, he dropped by Belo Medical Group first. Arghhh!

Anyway, going back to the movie, I really feel like there should still be something more. Maybe it’s just me, but I feel like it’s too hanging. Me thinks now that Wolverine cannot just stand all by himself without the rest of the X-Men. I could be wrong though, but heck, I don’t care. Buwahehe.

Leave a Reply

