Skip to content

Watchmen (2008)

March 16, 2009


Watchmen
Cinema 1, 11:30 PM
Greenbelt 3, Makati City

I got to watch Watchmen last Saturday at 1130 PM. As anyone who has seen it could attest to, the movie is almost 3 hours long which means I got to leave the cinemas past 2 AM. But lo and behold, even with the oceans of criticisms, I enjoyed the movie much to my surprise. In fact, I was glued to the screen and didn’t fall asleep unlike my experience with 300, 10,000 BC, and all the Underworld movies.

I am not going to say that I am the artsy fartsy type who appreciates abstract paintings or have placed James Joyce novels as my all-time favorites in Facebook or Friendster even though I only got to read its Cliff Notes version (you know who you are!). Thus, I don’t love Watchmen just because some people hate it. I love it, because I do. Hehehe!

I also don’t love Watchmen because I love its comic book version. Heck, I only see it at Fully Booked or something and trust me, I never had the inclination to pick it up. Now, if you accuse me of the same blind faith with the upcoming X-Men Origins, well, you may be correct about that. But with Watchmen, never!

I love Watchmen because of its references to World War, its hint of espionage, and the weird nostalgic feeling it brings to me pertaining to Dr. Strangelove (yes, I’ve seen it).

If you expect yet another Spiderman movie, well for sure you’d get bored and disappointed. But then again, if that’s what you expected out of Watchmen, then you deserve to be disappointed.

However if you expect an adult mature movie dressed up in leotards, well, chances are, you’d give this movie the justice and commendation it truly deserves. This makes me wonder though why a lot of people say claim to love The Dark Knight when I believe both are almost the same in direction and utilization of philosophy.

Anyway, part of what makes this movie great aside from the great shots and loyalty to the comic book version is its humor. The humor of this movie is not slapstick and much of the jokes are left in what is unsaid. Of course, the brains behind that would be Alan Moore, the graphics genius who created the Watchmen. But as I said, if you know what minutemen are, who Enrico Fermi is, and what Project Manhattan is all about, the subtle references of this movie can really leave you wanting for more.

Watch Watchmen at your own risk. Don’t watch it, and be just like everybody else.

Leave a Reply

