Skip to content

Goodbye Tagum?

December 27, 2008

Now that I think about it, this is the first time since year 2000 that I did not go home to Tagum, Davao for Christmas. Moreover, it’s the first time since 1983 (for my case) or since 1979 (for my sister’s case) or since 1978 (for my parent’s case), that we did not celebrate Christmas and New Year at our lovable hometown. But then again, I did spend my New Year all alone last year thanks to PSBank.

Anyway, the family is complete and together for the first time in years – vacation not included. After all, my sister and I have already begun living independently and away from our own home since 1996. That time, she went off to UP-Diliman for college whereas I studied high school at Davao City under the oh-so prestigious Philippine Science High School system. Thus for years, the setup was like this: our parents were at Tagum, my sister at Manila, while I was at Davao City for high school or Manila during my Ateneo slash Benilde days.

Now, at age 25, it might be too late to finally feel comfortably at home (think tosilog every morning and made-up bed upon coming home from work) especially since I do intend to become the typical independent working guy by age 28 (yeah, quite too late, but I have my own issues to deal with first). But I must say, the feeling of closeness and warmth inside a real home is something that appeases my troubled self these days. Hehehe.

I might be one of the most twisted and liberated thinkers of my age in this forlorn megalopolis, but I can’t shake the feeling that as a Filipino, I love the feeling of being at home with the ‘rents. This is because my sister and I have finally completed our latest personal endeavor which is to permanently transfer our parents here with us at Quezon City. Does this mean goodbye Tagum for good? I don’t know. But let’s say for the time being, it’s safe to say I won’t be riding Philippine Air Lines or Cebu Pacific anytime soon. Well, unless of course I have to go to Japan for work. But that’s another story.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

