Skip to content

The Day The Earth Stood Still (2008)

December 17, 2008

The Day The Earth Stood Still
Cinema 1, 7:40 PM
SM Megamall, Pasig City <— eek SM!

One bad thing about not listening (or is it reading) to on-line movie reviews is that by any chance they are correct (or at least in line with your taste), you end up wasting P162 on a lousy movie ticket (Yes, baby! Mr. Henry Sy now charges a ghastly P162 for SM Cinemas. Gone are the “SM-na-lang-tayo-manood-para-mura” college days….) plus P80 for a lousy popcorn (I’m not sure but I think Mr. Henry Sy also disallows bringing in food and drinks not bought from their snack food counter) and P46 pesos for a lousy Minute Maid drink which does not make you go a shake-shake-shake-shake-a-shake-shake while whining about how the movie sucks.

If I could turn back time, which I couldn’t, I swear I wouldn’t have watched in a movie house. Heck, I wouldn’t have wasted 2 hours (or is way shorter?) of my life watching it on DVD! In fact, I’m regretting having to make this movie review as we speak.

Anyway, Keanu Reeves is Keanu Reeves. He is Neo and he is still The One. But for all those guys out there who thinks this particular movie can bring back some Independence Day nostalgia may have to recalculate that so high of an expectation. First of all, the end-of-the-world FX routine is really, really tarnished. What can only truly amaze the movie-going and pop-corn munching public like me is the real thing – but hey we don’t want to happen.

One good thing about the movie is the lesson it teaches us. We don’t own the Earth so let’s try to co-exist. I know I’m not really a Greenpeace enthusiast but at least I’m not a hypocrite. I don’t claim what I’m not and I try to help the environment in my own little way.

Commuting, for example, lessens carbon emission (a lame excuse for not owning a car). And look at my backpack for crying out loud! It’s almost like my personal portable biodegrable trash bin filled with my own trash for the entire day. You’d be amazed what you see inside! Hehe.

At any rate, The Day The Earth Stood Still, is a lousy movie. Is it better than the original? I don’t exactly know. But based on my experience last night, I’m not planning to find out.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Marc permalink
    December 17, 2008 9:54 am

    hehe, cute review. very witty.

Trackbacks

  1. Yes Man (2008) « Vain Boys don’t KILL Themselves!

Leave a Reply

