Skip to content

32nd Milo Marathon Eliminations

August 4, 2008

Yesterday, August 3, 2008, was a day of firsts. Let me count the ways:

1. I ran my first real marathon. Honestly, I always thought that I was a bonafide marathon runner ever since I participated in the very fun Run With Pringles 2008 (hehe, me and my stupid assumptions). Unfortunately, my mind spirit was devastated challenged after hearing someone remark during the 2008 Rush to Mizuno Infinity Race that a 21k was a half-marathon, hence 42k makes a full marathon. So what was I been doing all along? A joke? So I set my eyes (and feet, of course) on joining a real marathon soon. And then came the 32nd Milo Marathon ads. My mom and dad asked me if I was joining. My sister asked if I were. And oh, there’s Steven Cinco who said he’s taking the 42k challenge. So lo and behold, I signed up for the real deal after seeing the clincher of course! The clincher being the very cool singlet (that’s sando for you non-runners) for the 42k runners aspirers compared to the very boring shirts for those who will just take on the measly 10-, 5-, and oh, 3k? Joke! But darn, why does it have to be 42.195k long?

2. I received an athletic medal (no, make it athletic commendation, for the first athletic venture I’ve ever had in my entire existence). I’m not athletic. I was (and I believe I will always be) a sore loser. I hated sports all my life even if my grades depended on it. So can you just imagine the irony with the thought that not only was I the former Sports Category Brand Manager for AND 1 here in the Philippines, I am now actually a 100% marathon runner (hehe) and lovin’ it!

3. I was late for the race/marathon/run. Thanks to The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor and a very bad experience (read as not worth it, at least, at that time) at Wensha Spa, I got home around 3:35 AM. Packed up my things and left home with my sister around 3:55 AM. Within 30 seconds, the taxi cab we were in hit another car (or was it a van) and so we had to transfer to another cab whose driver seemed to have a lousy sense of hearing direction at least on the way to Rizal Park aka Luneta (Glorietta? Glorietta?) and even worse driving speed. Anyway, the roads surrounding the Park were actually closed come 4:25 AM and so I had to literally run from somewhere I can no longer recall all the way to the Starting Point. In fact, the race was already starting as I approached the area (hence the saying “Papunta ka pa lang, pabalik na ako” flashing in my brain). This also meant I was not able to perform some stretching which proved to be very bad for my body around 4 hours later. Hehehe.

4. I had to excuse myself to use the toilet – twice. Thanks to McDonald’s Pasong Tamo and Fort Bonifacio, I was able to relieve myself with excess baggage. Can you just imagine running with extra load? I know, I know, TMI, but I just needed to share. FYI, I drank The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf’s Tropical Passion concoction the previous night after watching The Mummy.

5. I ran without music. For the first time ever (excluding my practice during the previous weekend), I ran without my iPod not really because I might get mugged while running along Baclaran (duh!) or that the intermittent rains could wreck havoc on my nifty piece of electronics, but because the darned thing only had 10% battery time thanks to my so-called gimmick the previous night. Hahaha. Why oh why, did I have to bring my iPod. Of course, I could have risked it, but then again, what’s the point of lugging it around if it will just end up dying on me after 30 minutes or so. And so, I resorted to singing.

6. I had cramps. Well, actually, I experienced it while on a taxi cab on the way home. But still, it was the first one since high school. It hurts like hell.

Anyway, I’d like to share the oddities, side stories, and bad things I have experienced while running:

1. People won’t give me the time of the day. Since I had no iPod, I had no way of telling if I was running for 1 hour or been on foot for 3. I kept on asking fellow runners what time is it and everyone just snobbed me. Hehehe. One guy even said, “Oh, it’s advanced” and sped away. Grrrr.

2. Cheering from bystanders/spectators. I felt like I was Michael Jordan, or at least (at least?), Manny Pacquiao. If only I knew the glory would feel this good I would have aspired to become one hell of an athtlete rather than dwell on marketing. Hehehe.

3. Personal assistants all over the route. And I thought I had it done. FYI, my sister has always been my sidekick in all my races/runs/marathons. I’ve always thought that was embarassing which is why I never took a picture of us together after an event. But hello! After this Milo thing, I saw dozens of PAs at the side of the road taking pictures, giving drinks, and even extra shirts, towels, socks to their beloved participants! Arghhh! Next time I’m going to hire an entire team for myself. Hahaha!

4. Cheaters. There was this guy who joined the 42k group at the EDSA flyover. He was first running with a white shirt on top but I could clearly see underneath it was the official Milo singlet with his bib number. Too bad I couldn’t make out the digits. Grrr. Where’s the spirit? Hahaha!

5. The Pessimist. OMG, but there was this one guy who kept on complaining while I was already on the way back from Fort Bonifacio while running on the Kalayaan Flyover. He kept on saying things like his legs hurt, no point running because we’re too late and all that crap. I really wanted to push him off the tracks, but then again, that would be murder homicide right? Hahaha. And that’s too much to do just to shut up a whiner. Well, he almost extinguished my passion though. Thank God, I’m vain.

6. The Very Humble Finisher. Why would someone bike all the way from Rizal Park to Buendia wearing his medal while eyeing struggling and panting participants who were still halfway to the finish line?

Now, my feet hurts like hell and my abs slash stomach, back, shoulders, and neck, are sore. Will I ever run a marathon again? I don’t know. Only time will tell. But heck, it was really, really fun!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2008 3:10 pm

    Hey Congratulations Kristoffer/Kit/King! 🙂 Running is the one of the great secrets to happiness hehehe 🙂 I’ll be joining the November New Balance run, hope to see you there!

  2. thefitmommy permalink
    September 8, 2008 12:16 pm

    Congratulations on your first 42K! Wow! I’m slowly training for that. I’ll do my first half-marathon this November at the New Balance POwer Race in Clark – maybe you can also run there? Never stop running!

Trackbacks

  1. Adidas King of the Road 2008 | king del rosario
  2. List of Races 2009 « Vain Boys don’t KILL Themselves!
  3. Koji Miyashita’s Birthday at Toki Restaurant « Vain Boys don’t KILL Themselves!
  4. 1 Year of Running « Vain Boys don’t KILL Themselves!
  5. Toki Restaurant Delivery « Vain Boys don’t KILL Themselves!

Leave a Reply

