Skip to content

My First Credit Card

April 3, 2008

For some reason unknown to man, I have been approved a Citibank Mercury Drug Credit Card (sorry Metrobank Card!) although I did not send complete requirements nor do I qualify based on current company tenure (me and my notorious career path), landline requirements (I don’t see the need to have 1), and billing documents. In fact, I vaguely spoke to the agent who contacted me.

After all, having been rejected for more than 5x, who wants to be rejected by the same bank on your 6th try?

So imagine my surprise (and delight), though my voice hardly changed from being monotone, when that agent called me up to inform me about the good news. I felt like a scam was brewing right away, so I called Citibank up and got the same jovial congratulations!

Whew!

Days passed and I finally received my card. Damn, it wasn’t just a credit card (I’m speaking as a credit card virgin btw). The credit limit was crazy (almost 4x my basic pay), the cash advance limit was crazy (for a newbie, perhaps?). And my friend told me that it’s a gold card and not a silver card, whatever that means.

Now, only one thing explains all of this and that’s because I work for PSBank. If you don’t know, bankers are given a lot of financial benefits, but along with it, the grave consequences. As a banker, I may loose my job (or risk not getting promoted anymore) once I taint my credit history. In short, Citibank knows I will pay. By hook or by crook, I will make sure I’ll pay what I owe them.  Now, let’s just hope I stick to my words or there goes my banking career and spic-and-span credit history. Haha!

This is just a tip to all of you wannabee bankers out there! Credit history is king. Well, perhaps a prince for now here in the Philippines. But rest assured, sooner or later, it will haunt you. In fact, it was one of the reasons why I got my wonderful job in the first place. Clean credit history is like having no skeletons in the closet in this very materialistic world we are all living in.

Now, let’s just hope I get by the first long weekend without having to use my credit card. Haha!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2008 4:32 pm

    must be your charm king 🙂

    congrats and happy swiping!

  2. theaccounts permalink
    August 12, 2008 12:36 pm

    hi! you’re lucky to be approved. ;))

    if you need some more fund sources such as cards, I saw a website that caters online applications. Here – theorygame.com

    It’s worth taking a look

  3. August 18, 2008 12:51 am

    I have credit cards given to me without applying for them which is annoying because if I can’t control my spending I’ll seriously be in debt. I also work at Psbank but I rarely use our card because it does not have as many perks and rebates compared to HSBC or Citibank, but don’t tell our bosses..

Trackbacks

  1. Will I Buy the Asus EEE PC? « Vain Boys don’t KILL Themselves!
  2. Run, Run, Baby, Run, Run « Vain Boys don’t KILL Themselves!

Leave a Reply

