Skip to content

I Love My Devant

January 21, 2008

I TAKE THIS BACK! THE FUCKING THING DIED ON ME AFTER 1 MONTH! 4/18/08

First things first: this is not a paid advertisement, though I wouldn’t mind if I end up receiving something from Techpoint because of this. Hehehe.

Anyway, due to the overwhelming popularity of the iPod and the fact that I have now signed up for Fitness First, I decided to buy myself an MP3 player that my sister will not be ashamed of. So I decided at first to window-shop at our neighborhood mall Ever Gotesco (the logic being I was so certain I would not end up seeing any fancy gadget there and thus not having to be tempted to buy one at all). I was soon proven to be wrong because upon visiting Western Appliances, I instantly feasted my eyes on the Devant MP3 Player as shown above.

Unfortunately, they did not have a 1-Gig version and can only offer the 2-Gig one which costs 2x more than what I have anticipated to spend for such thing. I am honestly a spendthrift when it comes to gadgets nowadays not only because I am now spending my own hard-earned money, but as a marketer cum innovator I just know for sure that this gadget would be obsolete by tomorrow next week.

However, I really adored the specs. MP3, radio, recorder, etc. And the design is just fancy and small and light. I hate the headphones though because it is not branded. But heck, the sound quality was nice and I like the fact that it is just a simple plug-and-play device. Look ma, no fuss! And so, the only hitch was the price because it turned out that the price I was quoted earlier by the sales associate turned out to be wrong. That price was for the 1-Gig version which they don’t have. The 2-Gig version costs P1,500+ more. In short, I had to say no.

Now, while at SM The Block (for my gym session habit), I realized that the nearby SM North has a Cyberzone area. Anyway, to cut it short, that’s where I found a 1-Gig Devant MP3 player which comes in cool outlandish lavender. Hehehe. I almost bought that Creative Thing or that Samsung U3 bit. Thank God I was able to stop myself from doing so. The Creative Thing was quite expensive (and wasn’t really cute based on my taste) and as for Samsung, I hate Samsung (because of the stupid phone I got from Sun Cellular that is just so buggy).

Anyway, right now, I am able to listen to my weird collection of MP3s which ranges from the usual Maroon 5, to Carpenters, to Sugababes, to Marilyn Manson. Best of all, I can now listen to my favorite FM stations most specifically to Love Radio’s Nicole Hyala and Chris Chuper on Tambalang Balahura at Balasubas while riding the MRT to work.

Added on 12/22/2008:

I tried asking “Jimmy” to fix the darned thing, but he told me the battery is the problem:

devant

For those people who got to visit my blog through the powerful search keywords “devant mp3 player” I did try to have it fixed through warranty. The problem is, one has to go to Manila to have it done, which I did afterwards. What happened while I was there though is another story. Hehehe.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. wellie sebastian permalink
    May 12, 2008 6:05 am

    same ****ing devant dead after barely 2 months…dunno if its jst some “viral attack” or truly deadly cancer of the internal organ

  2. devanter permalink
    February 7, 2009 5:29 am

    how much did u pay for the 2 gig devant mp3 player?
    what happened after a few months?
    what did you do?
    is it ok[fixed] now?

  3. sam permalink
    February 22, 2009 1:19 pm

    mine is dead after 4 months..reset don’t even work..f**8ing devant.

  4. February 23, 2009 1:05 am

    @ devanter: i forgot but i think it’s around P3,000

    @ sam: yeah, sad. it was a cool device though while it lasted.

  5. Gerol permalink
    April 9, 2009 9:43 am

    Yah.. mine too.. a thousand times reformat doesn’t work. millions of resets make it even worse… Don’t buy DEVANT…. BUY CD_R KING.. hahaha LOL

  6. April 13, 2009 6:17 am

    Hehe. I think Techpoint already dropped Devant from its brands….

  7. mhey jamisola permalink
    May 22, 2009 3:06 am

    i am planning to buy a devant mp3 player but i am confused now. would i have to go for it or i would rather buy the samsung u3?

  8. May 26, 2009 10:44 am

    just don’t buy devant…. ipod na lang….

  9. mark permalink
    August 25, 2009 4:08 am

    sheeet,, anung klaseng player to,, d mag detect,,

  10. August 26, 2009 1:53 am

    i think they already pulled out devant mp3 players from the market….

  11. reggie permalink
    August 27, 2009 8:15 am

    pota hindi ma detect ung devant mp3 ko

  12. jeroeme permalink
    October 17, 2009 3:47 pm

    love my devant mp3 player..the sound quality is great (the bass sound, specially if your using a high quality and expensive earphones)…its almost a year since i bought it and still working and no problems encountered….

  13. March 17, 2011 11:56 pm

    I own a devant almost 4years and still working maybe the devant mp3 player’s you bought are not authentic. I think devant mp3 players are good quality. I bought my 2gb mp4 devant for 4k and still good as new.

Trackbacks

  1. My Work-out and Jogging Music « Vain Boys don’t KILL Themselves!
  2. Kidwolf Rock Your Brainwaves « Vain Boys don't KILL Themselves!

Leave a Reply

