Skip to content

Watching Closely

October 29, 2006

The twists and turns of The Prestige is similar to the ending of Steven Spielberg’s dismal attempt to bring A.I. into the silverscreen. The main difference though is the word “dismal”. Sure, that thing at the ending might be too out-of-line for some movie goers (no, Christian Bale isn’t a vampire). And some even find the movie regrettable, claiming that it is nothing more than a heap of trash. I beg to differ though, because I think the reason people don’t like the movie is simply because the movie’s narration isn’t simple at all. It isn’t progressive like what most shallow moviegoers would like to see. I don’t claim to be an expert or anything, but heck, don’t jump into conclusion that a certain movie is dull just because you don’t understand flashbacks. Hehehe.

At any rate, I love the way The Prestige made use of the magician’s rivalry to show the intense competition between Nikola Tesla and Thomas Edison. I’ve read a lot about both scientists’ lives and I am quite certain that no magicians have ever been a part of their existence. But then again, I’m not a part of their circle of trust so I guess I could be wrong.

Anyway, this movie is worth every penny and is a good reprieve from pop culture and the overdose of CG animation and traditional period films. This movie deserves focus and a 100% attention. Yes, I admit, I was watching very closely.

Leave a Reply

