Skip to content

No More Billboards Please

October 4, 2006

This is how beautiful my 3-week old billboard looks like. But believe me, I don’t mind wasting my efforts if it would mean bringing back the cluter-free Metro Manila I have seen merely 5 years ago. We’re already heavily polluted. Have a heart.

The thing about this P2 B billboard war is that the opposing parties are all at the extremes. At one end are the have-not’s led by Sen. Miriam Defensor-Santiago (I think she’s been complaining about this eons ago), other public servants, NGOs, and media men. Have-nots being they don’t own any billboards (as far as I can tell) and are merely making such noise out of the goodness of their hearts or political ambitions (May 2007 is so near I can see it… but then again it is a political suicide to go against the Top 1000 Philippine Corporations).

On the other hand are the have’s led by the Outdoor Advertising Association of the Philippines (OAAP, who’s going to take the biggest blow if the ban is executed). They are joined by the companies and organizations who have everything to loose beginning with their billboards. These line-up includes multinationals and local companies such as Lloyd Laboratories, and ultimately, Citrus Well, Inc. And thus, my sincerest apologies to my boss and his parents.

One of my many jobs Key Result Areas as a Brand Associate for UrgenCee is everything there is about our billboards. I have personally done my very best to put it up from looking after the design, producing it, finding the best suppliers, to having it pulled down before that big, bad storm engulfed Metro Manila. Though I have given my blood, toil, tears, and sweat in making this outdoor campaign possible, I still have to say, I have the 100% support for the banning of billboards. Yes banning may be too harsh, my boss wants mere regulation. But as you have noticed our streets have been literally trashed by images of countless celebrities and marketing campaigns. I am a marketing wannabe professional yet I firmly believe it is time for this to end.

Yes, this industry fuels the economy, but there are a lot of ways to market a product. We are Filipinos. WE WILL THINK OF SOMETHING. I think based on what has happened during Milenyo, the deaths, the destruction, the ugliness, and the future dangers are something we should not take lightly.

Is human life and pleasing aesthetics really worth less than a monthly rental fee? Pardon the corny last words, but would it take another Milenyo for us to see the wheel of changes begin to turn?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2006 8:54 am

    I don’t know who will be present in the proceedings but I hope there are those who live in and around the billboard structures.

    Why?

    They are ones MOST affected by the angle of safety. Are a hundred billboards worth much more than a human life?

  2. angel permalink
    October 4, 2006 3:07 pm

    It’s only going to be regulated, not fully banned: http://newsinfo.inq7.net/topstories/topstories/view_article.php?article_id=24763

  3. October 7, 2006 12:16 pm

    waw…nice new layout..agal na ring di ako bumisita ditoah….ah..sa nyo pla ung urgencee..bibili dapat ako niyan kaso namahalan ata ako…and im not sure kng pede yan inumin rgularly…para kasing gamot ung dating nung binabasa ko ung label…anyway bout dun sa billboards…i think we have too much of them..ang sisikip na nga ng kalsada tapos ang dami pang billboards..parang di ka na makakahinga…tsktsk…and wala ata tayong public road and motorist safety board blahblah (not sure) n meron sa statesung nagaasses if sfe ba maglagay ng billboards or ads a isang lugar…satin basta my pera aa pede ka maglagay kahet saan…tsktsk

    have a nice day

  4. October 8, 2006 5:23 am

    hahaha! long time no see din! i hope you take time to support my petition here for the banning (or mere regulation) of billboards. as for urgencee, try it! you can drink it everyday but you will best appreciate it whenever you drink it right in time “when colds and coughs are near!”

Leave a Reply

