Skip to content

The Devil is on the Air

September 2, 2006

This is quite funny because the week I watched the highly-anticipated The Devil Wears Prada (August 30, 2006 Wednesday GB3) is the week my real boss got interviewed at ABS-CBN (or was it ANC?). Anyway, it’s almost the same animal altogether. It’s not that I think my boss is a devil, because I don’t. Ahem. Hehe. Perhaps, he’s just a devil with ideas. Who else would think of coming to a TV interview half-bald as he and his brother Dick talked about the soon-to-be-famous almost famous Halfmoon Bibingcrepe.

I would’ve wanted to post some screenshots here, but hey, I don’t wanna get fired or something. After all, one should never preempt the action of one’s boss. Initiative is one thing, stupidity is another. Hehehe. I don’t see him mentioning anything about it in his blog yet. So, let’s just wait and see.

The Devil Wears Prada is one hell (no pun intended) of a movie. I love the humor, I love the acting, I love the plot. Anne Hathaway is just so hot and thank God she already bid goodbye to those cutesy Princess Diaries’ roles. I am a fan of those kind of flicks but I think it’s about time for her to grow up once and for all. And she did!

The movie, I believe, is for people like me. People who have no social life. People who are blinded by the fact believe that by working their assess off earlier in life, We’d be able to get more out of a great career in the years to come. The same holds true with the protagonist of the movie. She almost lost everything in her life by chasing the dream of having the job a million girls would die for.

That’s the only thing I hate about the movie. She almost lost everything. Things would have been better (artistically) if she did loose everything. I hate feel-good movies where people are made to choose between, say, love or career, and the choose love. Or saving the one you love first and end up dying in the cold ocean (yes, Titanic) than running for your own life. But then again, that’s me.

Of course, if I faced the same predicament, I wouldn’t be so mean and just say goodbye to a true love or something. But then again, I don’t like too romantic stuff which are just so impractical. It’s so hard to find a great job nowadays. Would you just give it all away like that? Hehehe. Why can’t anyone meet in the middle? Why can’t anyone negotiate in movies? Maybe that’s what makes real life stranger than fiction.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nemcy permalink
    September 2, 2006 5:57 pm

    AMEN to that! 😉

Leave a Reply

