Skip to content

Another Movie Review

June 19, 2006

The Lake House
Now, this is clearly a great love story. I watched this movie last Friday, Cinema 2, GB3, 11:59 PM. It has the right amount of predictability, tragedy, and hope. Plus, it doesn’t hurt to see a great chemistry between Sandra “Ms. Congeniality” Bullock and Keanu “the One” Reeves. And damn, the love song, This Never Happened to Me Before by Sir Paul McCartney truly rocks!

I’m very sure
This never happened to me before
I met you and now I’m sure
This never happened before

Now I see
This is the way it's supposed to be
I met you and now I see
This is the way it should be

This is the way it should be for lovers
They shouldn't go it alone
It’s not so good when you're on your own

So come to me
Now we can be what we want to be
I love you and now I see
This is the way it should be

This is the way it should be

This is the way it should be for lovers
They shouldn't go it alone
It’s not so good when you're on your own

I’m very sure
This never happened to me before
I met you and now I’m sure
This never happened before (this never happened before)
This never happened before (this never happened)
This never happened before (this never happened before)

The Latter Days
At the other side of the spectrum comes this politically sensitive love story between a promiscuous gay person and a – of all people – a male Mormon preacher. Yes, this is a gay movie art film. This is, by far, better than that crap called Brokeback Mountain. If you wanna be all mushy and gay, then why not go all the way. This movie is somewhat like the Lakehouse. A lot of cutesy lovey dovey stuff which really makes you wanna puke and some wrist-slitting action as well. But in the end, the plot is very commendable, especially since the writer is the same guy who has brought us Sweet Home Alabama.

Beautiful Thing
Oi! Starting early, aren't we lad? Anyway, another moving and heartwarming "coming of age" story. Certainly worth your while.

Glory Road
Quite inspiring. Now, if only I'm thaaat crazy about basketball.

American Dreamz
Now this is funny. A satirical and funny take on American politics, the war on Iraq, and the surge of reality TV shows. A thumbs up for Chris Klein and that guy who portrayed Omar, and Omar’s funky faggot of a cousin. Hahaha!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2006 3:08 pm

    Sabi ng kakilala ko based daw ung Lake House sa isang Japanese movie?..(or Korean?)

    anyway..ive seen the trailer at mukha namang ok…naalala ko lang ung movie nila iza calzado?..feeling ko kinuha din ung idea na un sa orig movie…

  2. June 24, 2006 6:02 pm

    Yeah, yeah… from a Korean movie….

Leave a Reply

