Skip to content

Back to Benilde

May 23, 2006

It’s what I fear the most: the start of yet another school year. It’s not that I loathe school – I love school! But as a working student (read as not part-time), having to balance my everyday between office and academic work is literally and figuratively a pain in the arse. Moreover, for some reason, I felt like spicing up my extracurricular activities, and so right now, I am also burdened by all the assigned duties and responsibilities of an Executive Secretary in the Junior Marketing Association. Anyway, it’s now my last stretch at the academe and by GOD I just know I’ll have my way soon enough. Oh, happy day!

Right now, I wouldn’t feel like ranting or raving about my first day funk. For this term I’m taking up Retail Management, Sales Management, Business Law 2, Strategic Management, and Elementary Statistics. Most of these subjects I have managed to get a C+/B while in Ateneo, but unfortunately wasn’t credited when I went to the greener side. As for the first two, I don’t think it’s being taught in Ateneo, but I may be wrong. Anyway, it’s the first time I’ll be specifically taking up such subjects. I have some experience in actual selling things but I don’t have any theories or case studies to back me up. So in short, I’m kinda excited.

Come to think of it, I’m generally excited about management and marketing subjects. After reading so much Al Ries and Seth Godin at work, it pays to know what the other camp thinks.

To sum it all up, I’d like to say the things I love and hate about being a working student, specifically a CDP student at De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde.

Some people commented that I missed some points in the things I love and hate about Benilde, CDP, and working. Thus, I'm now modifying it into a 5-point list with the latest addendums posted in red.

3 5 things I love about being in Benilde

  1. Specialization in courses and degrees
  2. Benildeans tend to greet each other more
  3. The start of Benilde’s long overdue recognition
  4. The very tight security force
  5. The MRT/LRT challenge

3 5 things I hate about being in Benilde

  1. The pollution sucks
  2. The negative image of Benilde
  3. Bureaucracy and all the paperwork
  4. The very tight security force
  5. The hi-tech you-still-have-not-paid-your-tuition-so-you-cannot-get-in ID system

3 5 things I love about CDP

  1. The International Conference Center
  2. Mature students with real problems in life
  3. The privilege of having actual work experiences to connect theories to in class
  4. The 6 PM elevator rush
  5. Practicing business and marketing professors at the top of their game

3 5 things I hate about CDP

  1. 99% of the student body calls you kuya or ate
  2. 99% of the student body hasn’t seen you before
  3. The very long walk to AKIC
  4. The 6 PM elevator rush
  5. You'll feel like a Mexican

3 5 things I love about being a working student

  1. Perks for working while as a student, perks for studying while working
  2. Earning my own money
  3. Building a career long before actually graduating
  4. Professors tend to take you more seriously
  5. The MRT/LRT challenge

3 5 things I hate about being a working student

  1. Stress about work while as a student, stress as a student while working
  2. Paying for tuition and all other academic expenses
  3. You'll have no time for anything else other than work and school
  4. "So why didn't you graduate on time?"
  5. You'll feel like a Mexican
4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2006 12:54 am

    ANIMO LA SALLE!!!

  2. May 23, 2006 1:06 am

    Benilde Rocks!

  3. May 24, 2006 2:35 am

    peace!

  4. June 13, 2006 12:56 am

    @ aldrich: what do you mean?

Leave a Reply

