Skip to content

Harsh Wednesday

March 1, 2006

It’s that time of the year again where Filipino Catholics and not-so Filipino Catholics stand out from the crowd like a sore thumb. It’s Ash Wednesday once more and even though I have this event clearly marked in my planner, I almost forgot about having to go to church to have my forehead smudged with the sign of the cross in charcoal medium.

Anyway, the day is quite harsh even from the start, thus Harsh Wednesday. Instead of the usual 5am waking time I have installed in my biological clock, I woke up at a lousy 8am though I was already asleep by 1130pm. When I arrived at work, the freaking contacts I had from Roche, Chemico, and other Pharma slash RM suppliers have still not responded. Oh hell, let me test their irritability then when they hit the nerve of the ultimo spammer in this side of cyberspace.

Well, if they still fail to do anything about this by tomorrow AM, I guess I’ll have to ditch most of my ideas and just try to think locally for now. Poor multinational companies like Roche. They don’t know they are about to loose a potentially big-client. Hehehe!

And I feel so sleepy.

Let’s also not forget that I have a project due for Finamgt by tonight. Experience tells us that not submitting Mr. Baylon’s requirements on time will prove to be detrimental to my academic standing. And thus, while still at work, I am slowly accomplishing this difficult task as well. If only I had begun typing the financial data on MS Excel last night then it would have been 100% easy to do now.

Well, we are asked to make a 3-year forecast based on a company’s 5-year financial statement. Naturally, I chose a corporation that is so famous and friendly to students that they posted all their financial data on-line: Jollibee! I just love this company so much that I swear I’ll eat Chickenjoy for dinner just because of this. Kudos as well to the mascot and my personal friend, Mr. Tony Tan Caktiong.

Oh by the way, 2 people from Planter’s Bank went to our office today and spoke with Dennis. The assistant, I assume he is the assistant, is an Atenean and I think we were classmates before when I was still in Ateneo. The nerve of that guy though, he didn’t even say hello, pare or something. Why, he did not even recognize me. But in the words of Ms. Limbaco, it’s not my lost.

Oh by the way, 2 people from Planter’s Bank went to our office today and spoke with Dennis. The assistant, I assume he is the assistant, is an Atenean and I think we were classmates before when I was still in Ateneo. The nerve of that guy though, he didn’t even say hello, pare or something. Why, he did not even recognize me. But in the words of Ms. Limbaco, it’s not my lost.

Anyway, before this post and my last post regarding the ra-ra-rallies, a lot of things happened in my personal life as well. Old flames may be rekindled, which really cheers me up and scares me at the same time. Then, during last Monday’s gimmick at Party Avenue for Lady Dianne’s Goodbye-to-Work Celebration, let’s say, I found the event worth attending. (By the way, Ems told me while eating shawarma at You-Go-Bossing that Dennis actually forgot that I was still studying when he offered me a job. So whether that changed anything in his brain circuitry is still a matter of speculation for me. Doesn’t do much justice for the ego though.) Sigh. Finally, it was payday yesterday. And though most of the money basically went to paying the web host for GoFISH, I am still happy because I am earning baby. And take note – earning as a Brand Associate.

Loser me though because for the first payday I had in Naturale, I only had the audacity to treat myself to Heaven and Eggs along Tomas Morato. The food was great and I love the “perfect” eggs. I also commend the way they treat refillable dalandan juice as really “refillable”. Unfortunately, the toilet wasn’t as heavenly.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

